Need ideas for helicopter wedding

GFruge

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
It's been a little while since I've posted here. Haven't really been shooting much, been taking care of other projects and hobbies. Anyways, something out of the ordinary has come up, a "Helicopter wedding". I offered to shoot photos while aboard the helicopter as my main role is bestman and there will be limited seating. There will only be 5 people, not including the pilot, on the helicopter. Groom, Bride, Bestman, Maid of Honor, and Pastor.

I started thinking right after offering and started seeing a complex with the lighting, space, lens selection, angles, etc. I've flown in helicopter literally hundreds of times as I work in the oil industry in the Gulf of Mexico.

The wedding will be around 2:30 p.m. so the sun will be overhead. This should be too bad as we'll be in shade. There are windows around the entire aircraft, so well lit. The only source of lighting will be an SB900. I have diffusers, etc for it. I'll bring a tripod, but not sure how that's going to work out with the bounce effect of the aircraft. Everything will have to be shot at fast shutter speeds or with flash, because of this same bounce effect.

The only lens that I can think of to use would be the 12-24 f4 lens that I have. I think 50mm will be too tight, especially shotting without a full frame camera. The 1.5x factor will kill me.

Helicopters are usually pretty hot to get into, especially being in South Louisiana and the wedding being in July. Therefore, I've already advised the bride to limit the make-up and I'll have papertowel for everyone to wipe with.

Any ideas? Suggestions????

It the helicopter the destination?

I would think that a couple shots in the cabin would be sufficient, but I would assume that they are taking the helicopter to a location...and that is where they would be wanting/needing photos.