Needing advice on a website that I can sell images from.

Ick

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.ericsimagery.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm looking at moving my website to a more professional site that customers can purchase prints from and having them ship directly to the client.

I currently have Photocrati which is pretty weak, and does not allow for this at all.

Thinking of Zenfolio,

Any advice?

Eric

I use smugmug premium. $35 a month, but you get a lot of customer print and order fulfillment options.
i like their setup too, and the ease of changing/setting prices on galleries.

I use Zenfolio and I like it. Its easy for me and anyone ordering prints, plus they have a lot of options for products.

I'm not a pro, but I love Smugmug and their commerce offerings looked extremely promising and they tout the SEO quite a lot. I went with Smugmug mostly because their Lightroom plugin is absolutely incredible. Not only does it have a great number of options, it is capable of syncing metadata without re-uploading the entire image. You can easily publish a collection with all necessary settings: password, cart options, gallery style, etc...

I tend to upload all photos to password protected albums that are really just for me. Much of that serves as an offline backup. From there, I use Smart Galleries to pull images from other galleries using keywords. On my front page, I have some favorites shown publicly (need to work on that.) Elsewhere, I use password protected or unlisted galleries that might show one event, such as "Cub Scouts", "2014", "Pinewood Derby" and I can share that with other parents. If I were a pro, I'd probably still tend to upload all, then create Smart Galleries for the customer using a keyword like "include" and you could change what images the client could see simply by adding or removing that "include" keyword in the metadata.