Negs are focused, paper is not.

dave chamberlain

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm new to developing my own film, but I seem to have hit a conundrum.

I shoot HP5+ ISO 400 and Delta Pro 100.

While the (very real?) possibility exists that both my negatives and/or enlarger focusing could be slightly out of focus (I do use a focus finder), my prints are very bad. They aren't even close, in terms of focus, to the negatives.

The neg-holder has glass, so the negatives should be flat. Exposure isn't that long, that heat from the bulb might be warping the negatives (they're still sharp after multiple attempts.)

Does anyone have any tips or suggestions?

My thoughts right now are that either 1) there is some sort of vibration (the cooling fan in the colour head?) which is blurring the image, or 2) somehow my chemicals (Ilford Multigrade & RapidFixer) are interacting with the emulsion on my paper (Ilford RC Multigrade) and causing distortion of the grain? Or, am I missing a fundamental issue when developing B&W with a Durst CLS500, ie wrong density value dialed in? Currently set at M10, and zeroed on everything else.

Sorry for the essay, but I'm clutching at straws trying to sort this out, so ANY advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

P.S. Can't scan negatives, so unable to give a side-by-side comparison of negative vs paper.

Hmm, is your focus finder out of wack ... you should be able to see the projected image on the paper to see if it really not in focus.

It's a possibility, but I do focus with the eye before using the finder.
The only other possibility, which I failed to mention, is that I wear contact lenses. I've had an additional check-up just to make sure my prescription is correct. Everything seems to be in order....up until I actually start the print.

Can we get some history about this enlarger and lens ... is this the first time using this setup ?