NEVER USE BRIGHTNESS OR CONTRAST???

70Dstudent

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey everybody I am new to site, and I joined because I have a question about editing photos, use of photoshop and brightness and contrast.

Been a photographer for about 2 years now, I do my best to do research and study everything about photography as I want to improve and get better. And I would say I can take criticism well, but I am always doubtful when people make statements that use the word "NEVER".

My photography professor asked me if I used brightness and/or contrast on my photos that I turned in. I told him yes, I used photoshopp. And then he preceded to tell me NEVER USE BRIGHTNESS AND CONTRAST ON YOUR PHOTOS.

Now he did say I could use auto contrast and auto brightness, and lightroom instead. But I don't really understand what the huge fuss what about using brightness and contrast on photoshop. I feel like I have seen people use it the way I did, with great results. Is there any other reasons for why you should never use brightness and contrast on your photos?

The photos were like a photo essay, candids of a friend taking pictures.

I am ALWAYS skeptical of advice including "always".
I NEVER take advice including "never" without a grain of salt.

Related: In theory practice and theory are the same, but in practice they are not. ;)

The best person to ask is your professor.

In photoshop there are multiple ways to get similar or the same effects. Indeed some of the processes on offer are simply a collection of simpler actions bundled together into a complete, commonly used package.

Now I can understand brightness being used in lightroom and not in photoshop, because in theory with lightroom you've got 100% of the data from the shot as you're working from the RAW and thus have the greatest potential for getting things to work as you want.