New 18-35mm 1:3-4.5G not working on Nikon D610

Lonnie1212

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi Folks,

Sort of stressing out here. Got a new used 18-35 mm 1:3-4.5 G Nikon lens from Robert's Camera in the mail today. I cannot get it to function on my Nikon D610 camera. I set the non CPU lens data to 35 mm focal length and the max aperture to 4.5. The AF focus switch is set to AF. The live view screen remains mostly black with barely an image showing. Have changed the ISO numerous times. Put the camera in automatic no flash mode. It does not function properly. My 24-120 mm lens works immediately. But this lens isn't not working. I am new to using a Nikon D610. Could I be doing something wrong?

Thank you,

Lonnie

You shouldn't have to enter a non-CPU lens into the camera. That's automatic with a G lens.

Can you manually open the aperture using the little tab on the back of the lens?

A G lens requires no non CPU data entry... the lens has a CPU . You should be able to just simply bayonet the lens on and have it work. What exactly is the problem?

Last edited:
You shouldn't have to enter a non-CPU lens into the camera. That's automatic with a G lens.

Can you manually open the aperture using the little tab on the back of the lens?

I cannot get the aperture to change. It seems to be stuck at 1.4.

I cannot get the aperture to change. It seems to be stuck at 1.4.

It doesn't close down when removed from the camera? :ambivalence:

It sticks at 1.4 until I put a different lens on the camera. Then I can adjust the aperture just fine.

It should close down to minimum aperture when off the camera. I suspect something mechanically wrong with it... you temporarily 'fixed' it swapping cameras.

It should close down to minimum aperture when off the camera. I suspect something mechanically wrong with it... you temporarily 'fixed' it swapping cameras.