new camera help!

striker4678

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok so I have a pretty big decision that I could really use some help on.

Last week i bought a canon powershot A560..i believe that's the correct model...from best buy...
i'm fairly new to photography and when i purchased the camera i knew very little about what i was buying...i just new i wanted something with good zoom, something that has a good picture quality, really just something that truly was capable of getting a good shot. And also something that I could grow into as my photography skills advance. I wanted a camera around the level that is below professional and above amatuer..even though i probably am an amatuer by definition..I will defanitely be improving a lot..and i need a camera that will be able to meet my future needs as well as the ones i have right now...

I wanted to have near professional grade quality pictures..i know a lot of that has to do with the photographer..but i wanted to make sure that when i am good enough for those shots my camera will be capable of getting them.

Anyways i used the A560 a few times..4x optical zoom..7.1 megapixels...it produced a good picture sometimes..but with no IS and not very good zoom i know that this is far below what i'll be needing in the future..

so i'll be returning this camera tomorrow..i hate best buys 15% restocking fee..but the guy said they wave it if i upgrade with a store model..so i may do that..or pay the restock fee and go somewhere else..anyways i'll be returning the camera and buying a new..better one..

that's where you guys come in..which camera should i get? a really great camera that will allow me to take truly great pictures..near or professional grade pictures (i know that's probably impossible for my budget) for around $300-350. (US dollars)

I've been looking at the Canon powershot S3 IS...is this one good?