New Camera

jmarazas

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi everyone :)

I am very new to this, I have decided to switch majors from Nursing to Digital Imaging. Big change in plans! I am wanting to get a camera for the class, but I'm at a total loss with which way to go. I think I am leaning towards Nikon's, but I have no realy reason other than the lenses seem more affordable. I am wanting to get something that is beginner friendly, but will grow with me. I would hate to spend money on a camera and regret it 4 months later.

I am wanting to do a lot of things outside, but the majority will likely be inside. I am interested in photographing births, but I think it will take time to build up clients with that so I will probably be doing some family and newborn stuff at first. So, no sports, but I need something that will be good inside as well as outside.

Any tips or advice is appreciated :)

Jamie

Most importantly, what's your budget?

I thought I was clear, sorry. I'm not setting a budget. I just want something that is good to start out with. I don't need something thats 3,000 right off the bat. I'm looking for something good and reasonably priced. I have been looking at the Nikon d7000 a little.

if you like the color red better, go with Canon. If you like yellow, go with Nikon. I seriously hope you didn't really switch majors though.

Get a Pentax K5. More dynamic range than a 5d MKII, fully weather sealed/ dust sealed (have to spend 1200-1400 on the body alone to get that from Canon), has the mystical magical Sony wonder sensor capable of clean high ISO images, and access to all the old k mount pentax primes, as well as their amazing Limited series lenses. Smaller, better ergonomics and controls, and best of all, green rings instead of yellow or red. ;)