New guy here with a question

avidhunter

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone, my name is Lance. I have a original 3.5x5 picture of my grandfather in front of a beautiful mountain. It is the only picture i have of him and he is now passed on. I would like to have it blown into a 8x10 and would like it to be as clear and original as possible on good paper. I photo copied this picture at wal mart and tried doing an 8x10 and it turned out just OK. The paper showed some ink spotting and his face wasn't as clear as I would like it to be. I will be having this picture professionally framed. I have a photographer close to me that is supposed to do good work that said he would make it look nice for $8. I am just a little skeptical. What should I do?

Well, for 8.00, thats not bad. check his work before you pay. Have you thought of scanning the photo at a high DPI? and then take the file to be printed?
Just a thought.

Hello Canon AI-1,

I am new to photography and do not know what a high DPI is. Sounds like something that would work good. Where can I find a high DPI?

I suggest you tale the original to a professional photo lab. They will know what to do and have the equipment to do it.

alright. any advise on how to find a professional photo lab in my area?

I'm not sure if you've solved this problem yet, but a great solution is to actually photograph the image. Prior to scanners and digital photography, re-photographing a print (done properly) that no longer had a negative was a viable way to enable reproduction of the image. Done well, you'll come out with quite decent results.

I have several hundred photos like that, inherited fropm my family. This year I set out on a mission, scan each and every one of them, and distribute all the pictures to all of the family, spread across the country.
I have scanned pictures like that, I have scanned contact copied pictures from simple german folders, in 6x9cm, much smaller than your picture.