New here and need lense advice

lisah

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm so happy to have found this place. There are truly some amazing photographers here ;)
I recently bought a olympus evolt e510. My camera came with the zuiko lense kit, the 14mm-42mm and 40mm-150mm. I do like both the lenses but need something different for portraits.
My question is what lense would be the best for portraits? One that isn't terribly expensive either, as I'm just getting started out.
Also another question, is can you get kits to convert say canon lense to fit the olympus?
What would you guys suggest?
TIA!!
Lisa

Welcome to the forum.

Photography is an art, so you can't really say that any one lens is 'best for portraits'...or anything really. You could use just about any lens for portraits...the 'best' is up to you.

Typically for portraits, you want a longer lens because it's more flattening and more flattering. Wide angle lenses tend to distort things, which usually isn't great for portraits.

Also, many people tent to prefer 'fast' lenses for portraits. That would be a lens with a large maximum aperture (low F number). These are usually 'prime' (non-zoom) lenses. A 50mm F1.8 is a good example of this.

What would you consider 'terribly expensive'?

Your camera uses the 4/3 mount system. I'm not aware of any adaptors that would allow you to use Canon lenses...and if there is such a thing...it would probably eliminate autofocus, infinity focus and maybe aperture control.

You will just have to look for a lens with the 4/3 mount.

Thanks so uch for pointing that out. I didn't think about the 4/3 system.

I have the same camera...and just beginning too. Thanks for making this thread I was wondering the same thing. :)

Although, I dont understant the 4/3 term, can someone explain?

http://www.olympuscanada.com/cpg_section/lens/dea/products/lens/index.asp