New lens.. Blurry photos :(

Simons

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey

I have recently purchased a new lens but after taking some shots over Christmas with it i have had a lot of blurry shots.

I am still fairly new to photography.

My camera is the Canon EOS 1000d
My New lens is the Canon EF 70-200mm F/4L USM

Example of some of the blurry shots:

http://img29.imageshack.us/img29/2893/img5680i.jpg

http://img51.imageshack.us/img51/6102/img5707o.jpg

Camera Settings:

Shutter speed: 1/320 sec
Exposure Program: Aperture priority
F-Stop: f/4
Aperture Value: f/4.0
Iso Speed Ratings: 200
Focal Length: 100mm

Can anybody shed some light as to where I am going wrong? And maybe some tips of how to avoid similar problems in the future?

Many thanks!
Nic

Doens't look blurry - looks slightly out of focus. More so on that first show. Also, if you were walking in that first shot, even a tiny bounce might introduce some shake. But I don't think its shake so much as a focus issue.

They are out of focus.

Are you half pressing the shutter release (to lock focus) before taking the picture?

Are you using auto-focus, or manual?

If that first shot were focused, I'd be say it's a very good shot!

Doens't look blurry - looks slightly out of focus. More so on that first show. Also, if you were walking in that first shot, even a tiny bounce might introduce some shake. But I don't think its shake so much as a focus issue.

Hmm yeah i see what you mean. i was standing still taking the photo.

They are out of focus.

Are you half pressing the shutter release (to lock focus) before taking the picture?

Yes i am half pressing the button until it focuses, and then taking the shot.

Im using auto-focus

The second shot the shutter speed is too slow for the focal length

Hmm ok thanks, even tho its on 1/300 or whtever its on?

Hmm yeah i see what you mean. i was standing still taking the photo.

They are out of focus.