new! please help

somekid92

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey,

I'm very new to photography. i've always loved looking at pictures since i was little. i need to get a camera now. i know i want a digital SLR.. but i don't know much else. can anyone tell me what a good camera to begin with is? or maybe what you started with?

thanks for any help!

you need to decide on a price range first, and spend a lot of time at www.dpreview.com checking out the detailed reviews of the cameras. The two main entry level cameras you will be recommended will be the Nikon D50 and the Canon Digital Rebel XT, simply because they have the largest backing. I personally went with Pentax. Read up on what cameras have which features you want so you can start to narrow it down, after that go to your local camera store and hold each of them to see how they feel, may sure you like the menu setups and how to change all the settings. Theres no right or wrong choice for cameras.

somekid92 said:
That's "Mister" to you!
I'm very new to photography.
It shows.
i've always loved looking at pictures since i was little.
Really? So you started with Winnie the Pooh too, eh?
i need to get a camera now. i know i want a digital SLR..
You 'know' you want a dSLR?
Tell us why you "want a dSLR" then, please. Why not a Point & Shoot, a medium format, a view cam, or a cellphone cam?
but i don't know much else.
You could've fooled me.
can anyone tell me what a good camera to begin with is? or maybe what you started with?
Sure we can. But it's useless, because it would be Chinese to you, since you don't know the first thing about photography.

You need to go to the nearest bookstore, and get a simple book with pictures on the basics of photography: light, composition, color, contrast, focus, etc. Read it, memorize it, then get a P&S camera and start collecting your very first experiences.

After that you'll have something sensible to ask this forum.
Maybe.

haha stop teasing him.