New Site, Specific Goals. Feedback welcome.

GreggS

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.blue-line-photography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey all-

This is my first time back on TPF in a few years. I had to step away from photography while settling into a new (demanding) career. I've recently set a few goals for myself in photography. Disclaimer- I make no claim to be a professionally trained photographer. On the spectrum of point-an-shoot amateur (1) to enthusiast (5) to established professional (10), I like to hope I'm at least a 6.

My goal is to a) build a portfolio over the coming year and b) enter a juried art show in southern Wisconsin. In the meantime, I've created an online portfolio/store using SquareSpace with the goal of having an organized portfolio and, if I'm lucky, making a few sales.

My site is landing page and I'd love for some constructive feedback. What I'm not looking for is some of the bullying I've witnessed on this forum in the past. If you absolutely detest my work and portfolio and have nothing to say but "you're not a real photographer," please keep it to yourself. Otherwise, comments and suggestions are welcome.

Gregg

Site design.
Overall I like the site design and layout.

Home page.
Just personal preference but I'm not a fan of the large photo home page for two reasons. You logo is almost completely lost in the photo and this page feels disconnected to the rest of the site.

Logo.
Needs to be larger. It is a little difficult to read.

Galleries.
I like the gallery set up. Easy to navigate.

Store.
Seems to be well laid out and easy to navigate. A copy of the licence agreement available to read without having to add to cart would be nice.

Blog.
This is a double edged sword.
If you are committed to a blog and create content on a regular basis they can be useful. If you forget and let a couple of months slip away without an update it can look like you are not busy or are lazy.