New to People: Thoughts/Advice?

danielrwelch

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.danielwelchmusic.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've been a shutterbug for awhile but always a bit scattered. Being a musician who bounces all over, I always just shot what there was where I was. But I'd like to get better.

Toying with my 50/1.8, I decided to shoot a friend of mine who was a willing guinea pig. So in general, any insight that can be thrown my way would be greatly appreciated.

4369260915_2f79420184_b.jpg

4370010514_799de470de_b.jpg

4370011328_00b7ac895e_b.jpg

4370012786_224f5e1c0e_b.jpg

PS: Mods, if this should be moved to the Beginner's forum, sorry! Just let me know.

Last edited:
These would be great shots if the lighting was better. There is a shadow on her face in all of the pictures, which is distracting.

I'm not a professional at all though. Just pitching in my two cents. :thumbsup:

I like number 2 best, but its soo dark.

Setting:

Shot at night, using the ambient light from the glowing walls of an art museum. So they're intentionally lit for harder shadows. No flash was used with the intent to toy with the lens itself.

Little to underexposed for my taste. Also way too much dead space on #1 and #2 above the head. I would suggest cropping those and get the eyes in the upper third of the photo. On #3 I like your composition, but still a little too much dead space, I would crop just slightly above her head and out to where the dark part of the background ends. All that space above and where the background changes adds nothing to the photo.

Ok, a few critiques...