New to this hobby

Silverado333

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello to all!

I'm a young man nearing my mid 60's - still working. I've had numerous basic cameras throughout my lifetime - I can take a photo, and sometimes they're pretty good, if I do say so myself!

My current camera, is a Nikon D-40. I have two lenses for it, one 18-55mm which came with the package, and an add on AF-S Nikkor 18-200mm 1:3.5-5.6 G ED. Which I purchased as a replacement for the 18-55, but also give me a bit of a zoom. In other words, my everyday use lens.

Yesterday I purchased a new Canon 90D. I purchased only the camera base (no lenses), as I thought my current lenses would work on the new Canon.

My question is, will the lenses I currently have work with (fit) on my new Canon 90D? If not, is there an adapter that I can purchase to allow them to fit the Canon?

I'm really a novice at photography - perhaps my question is a give away? But with retirement looming the not too distant future - I would like to educate myself a little further in this hobby!

Thanks in advance for any info!!

Silverado

Welcome! We're glad you're here.

The quick answer is; yes, there are adapters for that purpose.

nikon to canon lens adapter | B&H Photo Video

The longer version of my answer is; you probably should have posted this question earlier.

I use a Nikon camera, on which I can mount many Nikon lenses, even some that are 50 years old or older.

To be frank, the Nikon lenses you have are generally considered "entry level" lenses, and are usually included with entry level camera bodies.

Canon also makes more than one "grade" of lens, which generally shows up in the image quality.

I have two possibilities for you: Take the Canon back and get a Nikon camera.

or

Purchase some Canon lenses for your Canon camera.

Greetings.

As stated, yes you can adapt them to the Canon, with caveats.