Newbie Needs Help

shemwelljr

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello,

This seems like the best photography forum on the net, so this looks like the place for me to get some recommendations. I'm not new to digital photography, and I have 2 digital cameras currently, both older models though, and nothing really nice. Here is my situation:

I have an idea for a book. Well, it may never be anything that gets published, but just doing this as a hobby for myself sounds kind of fun. I want to be able to take super clear photos that are of the quality that would be found in a picture book. Basically, I'll be taking photos of the city near me from unique perspectives.

What camera would you recommend? How many megapixels would I need the camera to be able to deliver?

Any help is appreciated. I'm not a professional photographer, and I don't know all of the terminology or how to use lots of different lenses, filters, etc. with a conventional camera. I just have a project in mind that seems enjoyable, and possibly even profitable if I could get it published someday, so I want a digital camera that will give me good results.

Thanks in advance for any help. :D

Depends on the size of a book. A 3.2 Megapixel camera can easily fill an A4 page, so as you can imagine the sensor resolution is not the limiting factor unless your book has impossibly large pages.

That said a reasonably good camera is still important. A small point and shoot will take fantastic pictures under perfect conditions, but once you get into darker areas or start shooting into light and getting creative you will need control over the gear more than anything.

That said unless we know what kind of budget you have it's hard to say what camera would suit you best.

Garbz..............Thanks for the reply.