Newbie question. Ps or Lr for beginners?

MattClark

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello guys, I am going to be honest with you. I am new at photography and I am trying to learn everything from videos and forums. But I noticed that I am pretty bad with photo editing softwares. So my question is which one is better for newbies to start with and invest in. Or i should start with a free software and learn the basics? And here is my second question. Do you have any suggestions for a free software I should start with?

Free software is worth exactly what you pay for it. Get a copy of Photoshop Elements. That is a great value.

Depends how you plan your photography.
LightRoom is great at managing your images and basic to intermediate editing.
Photoshop is used for more extensive editing.

I use Lightroom and Photoshop Elements as my combo. I'm rarely in PSE though as LR does most of what I want it to do. LR also is a lot faster at editing many images (you can see all of them that you load up) whereas PS/PSE seems good at one at a time.

i mostly use lightroom...
but with adobe CC i get both LR and PS for $10 a month and always have the latest updates.
probably the best deal in photography right now.

Echo Pixmedic's comment, on CC $10/month, is hard to beat.

Prior to the monthly charging, I was using LR, once I started using PS, I never looked back. LR is still used but for the library features, uploading to web... Great cataloging tool. But with some of the automation within PS and it's more advance tools, it clearly can be felt that this is version 3000 or so (slight exaggeration). Practically every time I find myself doing something and say.. wouldn't it be nice if it had this feature.... low and behold... it does.. :) And the great thing about it, is you can learn in pieces. Set yourself some goals... today... white balancing..... next lesson.... exposure.... Phlearn.com has all the tutorials you would need. Great resource.