Newbie! Which lens to choose for wildlife/bird photography

vellalar

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Dear Frenz,

I'm a newbie to photography. I was motivated to photography, as i do a lot of trekking. I have a Canon 450D with 18-55mm lens. I need advice on the best lens for wildlife/bird photography. I'm more concerned about the prices too, i hope to start with some low rage lenses and then switch over to a high end model later.

Cheers!

At least 300mm in focal length.
A wide aperture is also an advantage.

Many wildlife photographers use lenses like ... 400mm F2.8 ... but most of us cannot afford it.

We use a Sigma 400mm f/5.6 APO and a Sigma 300mm f/4.0 APO lens (+1.4x PRO teleconverter).

You will find non-Canon lenses of these types that may be affordable.

I'm a newbie to photography. I was motivated to photography, as i do a lot of trekking. I have a Canon 450D with 18-55mm lens. I need advice on the best lens for wildlife/bird photography.
How much are you willing to spend?
I'm more concerned about the prices too, i hope to start with some low rage lenses and then switch over to a high end model later.
My advice is to skip over the real cheap Canon lenses (the ones with the silver ring on the body) and get their mid-range lenses instead...they cost more but the image quality (especially with their longer reach telephoto and telephoto zoom lenses) will be so much better. Their cheap telephoto zoom lenses tend to have a lot of CA (chromatic aberration) when zoomed all the way out and are slow to focus.

Resist the urge to get the cheap EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III lens...the CA can be pretty bad.

I haven't heard bad things about the EF 100-300mm f/4.5-5.6 USM lens.

I heard some people say the EF 70-300 f/4.0-5.6 IS USM lens is pretty good for wildlife photography.