ramjamband

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi to everyone. Just found this forum so thoght I would register and say hello. I have recentley returned to photography after a long lay off. I have a Canon EOS 3000, a Canon Ixus and a Sony Cybershot Digital. My main interest is Photographing Bands performing on stage in particular my son's bands. Any tips on stage photography will be appreciated as I am a complete novice to this aspect of photography.

Hi there and welcome!
I believe that there's several members who are involved with bands and the photographing of them so I'm fairly certain you're gonna get a lot of input.
Have fun!

Awesome! Good for you, to get yourself involved in your son's music in your own artistic way. That's totally cool. I have several friends in bands and appreciate the challenge of photographing in these low lit situations....hope you post some stuff soon.

Have fun, and welcome! :D

Welcome to the forum :D

I'm not familiar with any of the cameras you mentioned (they sound high tech, and I am a low techie), but I do shoot bands. I'm photographing one tonight.

I think that the most important piece of equip is a fast lens: f/2 or better. Fast zoom lenses are very expensive, but you can usually find fast fixed focal length lenses for a reasonable price. 50mm works great or the smaller venues I'm usually shooting at; 50mm is also common therefore cheap. If you frequent large, open clubs or arenas you probably want something more telephoto.

I take your point about fast lenses. My EOS 3000 has only got a 35-80mm f/4 zoom, not bad focul length but too slow. I have found a couple of traders on e-bay tonight selling standard Canon EF 50MM f/1.8 for about £75 including postage. I think I will get one as the venues we frequent are pretty small and so 50MM should be OK.