Newborn Photography Tips?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Terri Walsh

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am about to do my first ever newborn session this week, and I would love any and all tips, lighting suggestions, pose ideas, etc.

Come on you know you have some tips to share............

Perhaps I shoudl tell you what I have...

Canon 30D
24-105 USM lens
50 mm 1.8 (best to use this one and natural light?)
tripod (needed?)
reflector
natural studio light (wasnt going to use?)
plenty of memory cards

well, I'm a newbie here so I don't have any valuable photog tips
but I'm also a mom of 4 and still pining for the newborn shots I never got. I'm a sucker for the feet-in-mom's hands pose
and if mom is breastfeeding, you might want to ask if she'd like a shot or two of baby at breast. I wish I got those.
someone else recommended (I think it was here) getting some cloth diapers for the shoot too. they look so much nicer than paper diapers.

well, I'm a newbie here so I don't have any valuable photog tips
but I'm also a mom of 4 and still pining for the newborn shots I never got. I'm a sucker for the feet-in-mom's hands pose
and if mom is breastfeeding, you might want to ask if she'd like a shot or two of baby at breast. I wish I got those.
someone else recommended (I think it was here) getting some cloth diapers for the shoot too. they look so much nicer than paper diapers.

Great - thanks for the ideas! Love the clothe diaper idea, one I may not have thought of, but expecting myself, I have nothing to loose!

When i had my maternity shots done our photographer did several things - baby on dad's shoulder (shoot from dad's backside), naked baby with legs tucked underneath (laying on belly), baby in blanket (shoot from looking down on baby), etc. One thing we didn't do is get a family shot - they were all separate with me and baby or daddy and baby. Be sure to get that family shot!