Nik Software Question + Exporting from LR to PS....

elementgs

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.element.gs
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Truthfully, I have a ton of questions on Nik Software, Lightroom and Photoshop but I know that's nothing new. I'm self taught and have learned by making hundreds of stupid mistakes...

I still feel like I'm making more than a few mistakes though so I've narrowed down my thoughts into a few pointed questions which I personally feel might be the source of more than a few problems I'm having.

My first is, if I'm using Nik Software Sharpener Pro, at all, should it be the very last thing I do, or one of the first just prior to exporting into Photoshop? Is there a point to running the picture through Sharpener Pro as well as Dfine? It seems like Dfine simply undoes Sharpener...?

This leads to a second question, I am working about 70% of my images in Lightroom prior to exporting to Photoshop, which includes Sharpener and Viveza 2. From there, I export using the "original" file which in this case is the TIF output from Nik Software.

The issue I'm having is, Nik Software is converting my photos from RAW to TIF and asks for settings... It defaults to 240 for the resolution, and sRGB for color space.

Should I change that at all? I am using AdobeRGB for my color space so I do typically change that but I am hesitant to increase my resolution to 300dpi as I would imagine there would be some loss..... If I don't change it, is there going to be an issue later when I go to print these pictures?

Anyways, like I said, I have a ton of questions but I'll do my best to keep them to the minimum... Thanks for your time!

I would use the nik plug ins after you import to PS so you can use masks. Least thats what I do

also, sharpener for printing last.

I always use my plugins after going to PS