Nikon and Sigma? Help!

CaitlinsCreations

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
ccportraitdesign.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Ok, so I am ready to upgrade my old stuff and plan to buy the Nikon D300 soon. I really want to get a 70-200 lens, but the Nikon brand is pretty $$$
Does anyone know if the Sigma 70-200 is fully compatible with the D300? It's half the price, and I have heard that Sigma works with Nikon, so I want to double check.

I am a great photographer but have not studied a lot of equipment...I hate that stigma (no pun intended) that a professional photographer should know all there is to know about specs on every lens and camera, but it's not like you can take a class on "what to buy" or anything.

The Sigma is according to many, is a fantastic lens. There are a few bad copies I believe.[?]
Sigma | 70-200mm f/2.8 II EX DG APO Macro HSM AF Lens | 579-306

Or this
This is the best tele zoom lens for under $1000 for Nikon. The only downside is the older AF-D. Which means the lens uses the motor thats built into the D300 and is louder than the AF-S, which uses a motor built into the lens. You also lose VR with this cheaper lens, but heh, its $700 cheaper.
Nikon | 80-200mm f/2.8 ED AF-D Autofocus Lens with Tripod | 1986

yeah, as with any lens maker there are some copies of a lens that is not quite as good, or sharp as another. Sigma tends to have more complaints about that than the first party makers (I.E. Canon or Nikon)

However, for a third party lens maker Sigma usually seems to be pretty good, and this is especially the case on the 70-200 2.8. Although there are worse copies, most of them are quite good (from what I've read... I only have one copy, and it's for Canon).