Nikon D4 replacement camera

DorkSterr

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been using the D4 for two years now and am coming to a conclusion that it isn't an ideal camera for me for traveling. I'm the type to travel light only carrying two lens max an ultra wide + mid range zoom. I got the D4 because of its build quality, ISO performance/low light capabilities and amazing auto focus under the worst circumstances.

I am trying to replace my D4 with a smaller body like the Sony RX, Fuji X series and others like it with comparable specs in ISO performance/low light auto focus, FPS (not that important), build quality. What would you guys recommend, I can go up to $3000 USD but would prefer not too, also it would be a plus if it were full frame if that's not asking too much.

Thank you
Nikko

You'd get the iso performance from a Sony a7s, without the af. You'd get the af with a d750 without the build.

From specs alone you have royalty. Everything else will compromise somehow

If there was a smaller and cheaper camera that was capable of doing what the D4 can do, we would all own one.
That said, if you're already invested in Nikon lenses, then I would suggest another Nikon (perhaps a D610?) or a Sony A7.
The Sony A7 series will accept your Nikon lenses (with an adapter) and will allow you to keep autofocus, aperture control, etc.
The Sony a7 mirrorless cameras were really designed to accept lenses from other manufactuers (Nikon/Canon) without any quality loss.
They are also full frame.

Of course, this also depends on what you want to do with this 2nd camera. Are you looking to do portraits? Landscape? Events/Weddings?

I would probably look at the nikon D750 if you have that kind of budget, looks like that thing is amazing in low light even with really high ISO I saw some photos taken and a crazy high ISO in extremely low light and they photos came out great.