Nikon D40x

Ptyler22

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.harvardpress.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey, I am new to photography and was lookin at a d40 basically because it is the cheapest DSLR out there but I was just looking on Adorama and you can get a D40x body for $469. This seems like a good deal no? The only problems are: 1. It is refurbished by Nikon, what exactly does this mean? do you not reccomend getting a refurbished camera? 2. Can I get a basic lens for it for like $40 or $50? Thanks

I'm not familiar with Adorama, so I can't comment on them; "Refurbished" generally means a camera that either didn't make the first QA cut coming off the line and had to go back for a tweak, or one that has been returned by a customer for minor warranty issues. It should be 100% mechanically/electrically, though may have minor cosmetic flaws. I would check into the warranty though; if it's not the full Nikon 2 year factory warranty, I would be cautious.

While there's nothing inherently wrong with refurbs, have a look at the D40x kits - I suspect you can find them for only a little more than that, and they will come with at least one Nikon lens.

You could get a "basic" lens for $40-50 but I wouldn't recommend it. Remember, the camera is just the thing that records the images; lenses are what make the image. It's okay to go cheap on on a body. It's NEVER okay to go cheap on lenses!

I would stick to the d40. The d40x is actually worse. the 2 major things that makes the d40 better are that one, the d40 handles noise much better becuase there are less megapixels crammed into the sensor, and two, the d40 has a 1/500th sync speed over the 1/250 on the d40x. This means you can use the flash even at 1/500 shutter speed which can be extremly helpful