Nikon D5100 VS Pentax K-30. Would like your photography input please.

fortybrandon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I would like to say thank you beforehand. As a newb I am taking all the knowledge I can at the moment. I have sold my recent D3100 in an attempt to upgrade both lens and Body. I understand lens make a world of difference in pictures as do skill in photography. Knowing this I have looked and looked and looked countless of times at a lot of different websites about both the D5100 and the Pentax K-30.

From what I gather, (Snapsort.com) compares any DSLR and other cameras to each other. I really don't know how accurate snap Sort is. Below is the link to the comparison.

Nikon D5100 vs Pentax K-30 - Our Analysis

From what I gather the Pentax offers more features than the D5100 does. Some say it competes with the D7000 more so than it does the 5k series.

What really gets me on the Pentax K-30 is the

Image Stabilization
100% viewfinder
Faster Shutter Speed
Weather Sealed.
Variety of Colors, Blue, White, Silver (Stupid, but makes more aesthetic appearance)

I also like the Nikon D5100 because of the
More Lenses available.
The Flip Out Screen
The Battery Life

Keeping this in mind. I would like your input on the two cameras please. I understand the lens makes a difference in the pictures and I am aware of this when looking at the K-30. The Video does not make me any difference as I will be taking pictures not videos with it.

Right now I can buy a K-30 Body only for $446.oo (I am buying the Body only because I will not be using it as it is an early birthday present to myself next month and I can buy the lens later)

The D5100 actually sells for less $420 from what I have seen with the kit lens.

I like how the K-30 has the built in stabalizer and i know some of nikon lens VR cost more than the regulars.