Pictures with D5300 are not as "Sharp" as I would like...???

WERNER 1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi all!

Newbie here :D ---> If this post is not in the correct forum, please delete or move, thanks!

So,.. I've been using my D5300 for a few years now with just the kit lenses plus one Tamron that I bought. ( SP 70-300mmF/4-5.6 )

Lenses:

Nikon - AF-P 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6g
Nikon - AF-S 55-200mm 1:4-5.6g

I mostly use the two Nikon lenses for everything. The majority of what I shoot is hockey games (I try any way) ,.. but there are the special occasions like birthdays, holidays, and other hobbys like Cars and guitars :)

Recently I brought the 5300 to our team picture night for our hockey team (I coach the local highschool team). They had been bringing in a lady who is one of the local photographers and does a lot of Sr. pictures and what not,.. but honestly I was less than impressed with her pics of our team the past couple of years... so I brought my own just to make sure and get some decent pics haha!

The lady ended up not showing up so they asked me to take all of the pictures which consisted of all individual pics as well as multiple group pics of both JV and Varsity and a few others. I agreed and after a few minutes of tweaking my settings I was dialed in. ( I used the 18-55 lense )

After all was said and done I went home to pull up a few on my pc to see how they turned out, and for the most part they were pretty good, but I just feel like they are not very "Sharp" - I know the kit lenses are not the best, but I feel like them along with the D5300 the pics should be pretty good (?)

Here are the settings I used:

Manual Mode
1/320
ISO 3200
AF-C
Active D lighting - Normal
WB - Auto
BKT off
HDR off
Quality - FINE/L
Picture control - N
Auto Focus area AF 9 Points
Matrix Metering

I will try and post a couple of pics, one of the original pic, and then after I processed it.