Nikon D90 Purchasing (Need Help)

dezignx

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Ok, I am on ebay trying to find a good deal on the Nikon D90. I am new at purchasing a dslr, so help me out please. If it helps, I am wanting to do more like studio photography (children,models,seniors,etc)

Anyway, what should I look for in the listing. I know to get the camera, lol, but what lens or other items I will need?

Here is one of the many listings I found....

Nikon D90 Digital SLR Camera Body - with:
EN-EL3e Rechargeable Li-ion Battery
MH-18a Quick Charger
USB Cable
Audio/Video Cable
Neck Strap
BM-10 LCD Monitor Cover
Body Cap
DK-5 Eyepiece Cap
DK-21 Rubber Eyecup
BS-1 Accessory Shoe Cap
Software Suite CD-ROM
Instruction Booklets
1 Year Warranty Included
Nikon 18-105mm AF-S DX f/3.5-5.6G ED VR Nikkor Lens -with:
Nikon Front Lens Cap
Nikon Rear Lens Cap
Instruction Booklet
1 Year Warranty Included

Is this the lens I need/are these lens ok?

Also, when they have camera body only kit, means just the camera with no lens right?

eta: or what about this listing

Or is it cheaper to buy the camera body kit then find the lens cheap?

Thanks

Last edited:
As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
The 18-105 lens isnt too bad for a kit lens, but if you are serious about photography, you will easily outgrow it before too long and buy more lenses that will end up replacing the 18-105...its what I did. What I'm saying is that you might want to just consider buying the camera body by itself, then shopping separately for a good lens to go with it. I did some checking and currently between amazon, adorama, and BH Photo, amazon has the best deal for the d90 at $889

Here is the listing
[ame=http://www.amazon.com/Nikon-D90-12-3MP-Digital-Body/dp/B001ET5U92/ref=pd_bbs_sr_2?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1241098152&sr=8-2]Amazon.com: Nikon D90 12.3MP Digital SLR Camera (Body Only): Electronics[/ame]