Nikon lens question

alixgaul

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am an amateur photographer soon to become a student. i'd need to expand my collection of lenses (considering that i only own a 18-55!) but i'm clearly on a budget. i have found the Nikon AF NIKKOR 70-300mm f4-5.6 G for £150; while the Nikon Zoom-Nikkor AF-S VR 70-300 f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED would cost 350£+..

considering that i'm still fairly at the beginning would you advise to buy the more expensive one or shall i stick to the older one even though i realise that it has no Vibration reduction hence quality may be poorer?

thanks...
Alice

First thing is it depends on which camera you're using. Lower end nikons don't have a focus motor in the body, so you'd need the af-s lens which has the motor in the lens.

As far as VR goes, just because the lens doesn't have VR doesn't mean the quality of pictures will be worse. Edit: VR doesn't affect quality.

If you're shooting with a d40, d3000, or d5000 and want autofocus get the af-s lens. If autofocus isn't an issue, get the AF lens.

You could also look into off brand lenses much cheaper. I know tamron makes a 70-300 that autofocuses that is actually a pretty good lens for around $150(I just sold it).

thanks. i bought the nikon D3000 just few months ago.. problem is that even tho i can get the grasp of the technicalities i struggle understanding the difference between all components.. i assumed AF stood by auto-focus, so what's the difference with the AF-S?
it'll probably sound a silly question, but....

thanks. i bought the nikon D3000 just few months ago.. problem is that even tho i can get the grasp of the technicalities i struggle understanding the difference between all components.. i assumed AF stood by auto-focus, so what's the difference with the AF-S?
it'll probably sound a silly question, but....

The af-s and af-i lenses have the motor in the lens, the AF lenses don't.