Oh crap.....a little help please

Funky

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello everyone, i have a slight problem. i've been shooting weddings every weekend or so for the past 2 months of summer and every single one of them has been an out door wedding, everythings been fine and everyones been happy. now for the bad part D:, i was hired for an indoor church wedding this saturday and upon further inspection im introuble, the only light source is staind glass, and its REALLY dark inside. i just dont know how im going to do it, i own an external flash but its not powerful enough and i really dont think using a flash ever looks good. so ANY advice would be simply amazing and helpful.
thanks

:cheers:
Zach

You could use a fast lens (F1.8 or F1.4) and a high ISO...which will mean grain or noise.

A wedding photographer should be able to use flash when it's called for to get the shot. A wedding photographer should also have the equipment to get the job done. If your flash is not good enough, you may have to go out and get one (plus backup).

the only light source is staind glass, and its REALLY dark inside. i just dont know how im going to do it, i own an external flash but its not powerful enough and i really dont think using a flash ever looks good.
:cheers:
Zach

Well, if flash doesn't ever look good, and there isn't enough light even for fast lenses, there isn't much advice to give.

PS. Flash sometimes actually can look good.

In my experience churches with available light are very tricky. As you say it is very dark inside - and there is also usually a lot of light coming through the windows... the difference can be way too much for negative film, much less a digital sensor. For that reason I have often found flash necessary.