OK. I'm an amateur!

Axel

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I have been complaining before in another forum about the quality of my pictures and need to know what I'm doing wrong. Here are a few examples of my disasters...
This one I don't even know what I was looking for, it was just an experiment, but I see that something isn't right... I want it to be more artistic!

Whiskey_and_glass.jpg

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This one I'm rather happy with. But the problem is that I didn't know what to expect from the picture when I took it. It was taken with an ISO 200 at 3 seconds...

hallway.jpg

Something's missing here... I like the colors, but would want the dark part to be even darker and the sky to be more blue... It lacks the artistic touch...

sky1.jpg

Same as above, but the sky seems to get darker at the top left corner for some reason...

sky2.jpg

This one is horrible and taken right before the next one... I don't recall the difference in the settings though...

trees1.jpg

As said above...

trees2.jpg

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What I'm looking for in most of my pictures is the silhouette (sp?) effects! But I always shoot them at a guess... I would like to know how to be able to do it and knowing what's the outcome!

Thanks for your comments and I know they suck big time so don't be too harsh on me... :oops:

A quick lesson at how your camera registers exposures. Imagine two pieces of paper, one black, one white. The white piece is 0% value, the black, 100%. Ok, your camera (unless it's fully manual) is set up to think that what you're trying to shoot is exposed at a perfect 18% gray.
Meaning, if you're aiming at something that is black, it's going to think it's lighter and overexpose. Shoot something lighter and it's the other way around.