Pay Close Attention!

SCraig

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Website
sc-photo-tn.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I went to the Old Hickory Wildlife Management Area this morning to see what was there. It was the first time I've been there so I didn't really know what to expect, but it was basically just a boat landing area for the lake. There were, however, a lot of Ring-Billed Gulls wheeling around and American Coots paddling around. I have hundreds of photographs of both so I wasn't paying a lot of attention to them. There was also a Black-Crowned Night Heron that I have NO decent photographs of, and of course he took to his wings as soon as I got within range so I still have NO decent shots of them.

So, rather than waste a trip, I started shooting some shots of the gulls since they are always interesting. Then I realized that among the dozens and dozens of Ring-Billed Gulls there were also a few that were smaller. Looking closer I also realized that they had black bills instead of the yellow bills on Ring-Billed Gulls. I just happened to notice that there was a different species mixed in. It turns out that they were Bonaparte's Gulls but I never would have seen them had I not happened to notice that they were smaller. Same overall color, same black on their tail, same brown patches on their sides. Looking closer I could see a black bill and a black spot behind the eye, but I had to LOOK for the differences.

When I got home I started trying to find out what I had seen and even then got stuck between two that are still very, very similar in appearance. I was pretty sure it was either a Bonaparte's Gull or a Little Gull and had to send the photos to a bird expert I've used for help before.