Photo editing software for a beginner

tostaky

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi !

I'm a newbie on this forum and the same can be said about photography in general. I'v buy a Nikon d90 last year and now i'm taking photography lessons. I want to start shooting raw pictrures (for now i do Raw + jpeg fine). I Also want to learn abouit editing my pictures. What is the best software to start with ? Elements ? Lightroom 3 ? anything else ?

Thanks !

Thanks for those suggestions. I know they are free but I don,t care about investing in a software. I would like to take the time to learn well a software without having to change. I don't want to be professional with this thing but I want to have the more intuitive/complete software.

I'd suggest Photoshop Elements. It's a lighter, easier version of Photoshop and it costs much less.

I really like Lightroom, but it's not so much an 'image editing' software, as a 'workflow' software.

Agree with Big Mike. Photoshop Elements was much easier than Photoshop. You can try editing in that.

I would normally agree and recommend Elements to someone starting out. However you noted a couple items in asking you question that raise flags for me. You said you want to shoot RAW and that you're taking lessons. Both those items suggest an above average serious interest.

Elements is Adobe's consumer market product. It's overriding design philosophy is "don't worry, be happy." Happy features sell Elements. I've watched Elements for years now as it's gone through numerous version iterations. With each new version they manage to remove functionality and add more happy features.

Your interest in RAW and lessons leads me to worry that you could soon become unhappy with happy features.

GIMP doesn't have the elegant interface that you find in Elements, but it is in fact much more capable as an image editor. GIMP's 8 bit file limitation however will eventually clash with your interest in RAW files.