photo enlargement question

grodr

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hello,

i have an image with the following specs: (straight from 10megapixal camera)
width - 137,16 cm
height - 91,44 cm
dpi - 72

and I would like to change the size to: (for high quality printing - exhibition)
width - 110cm
height - ? will crop
dpi - 300

Any tips, sorry I have never done photo enlargements before.
Thank you,
grodr

Post-processing a digital image, including enlarging the file, requires specific software and specific experience.

If you have no experience in post-processing or making enlargements, you really don't have enough experience to make satisfactory, very large prints and you will probably be disappointed in the result if you try to do it yourself. There are issues of sharpening, etc. that you are unfamiliar with.

Rather than spending some amount of money and getting a mediocre result, consider going to a color lab, giving them the file and asking if a satisfactory large print can be made from that image.

You could start by posting a reduced version of the image here and the viewers can give you some feedback on whether it will hold up as a larger print.

Lew

Im not sure what that is in inches or whatev but i made the mistake of saving work at 72 dpi and when i changed it to 240 the biggest i could print was about 13x19 and 300dpi brought it down to about 11x14 or so so yeah

Here are some number definitions:

DPI = Dots Per Inch. Digital cameras don't have dots! They have pixels.

PPI = Pixels Per Inch. Now we're talking digital images.

To make this discussion simple we will start with an uncropped image that will be printed at a resolution of 100 PPI.

Look at the pixel dimensions of your image. It will be something like 3426 x 2872 pixels.

Printing that image at 100 ppi yields an image that is 34.26 inches by 28.72 inches. Do you follow the math there? 3426 pixels divided by 100 PPI = 34.26 inches (82.224 cm).