photo shop 2.0 or 5.0

RPetterson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
hello... I was given both of these what one should I use I am new to all of this what one would work better for someone starting out?

Isn't 5.0 something like 10 years old? And 2.0 would be ancient. Do they even run on your OS?

If I'm correct about their age, you may want to skip that and pay for CS4. You could end up needing to relearn a lot of things when you finally go to the newest version not to mention that it is probably a lot harder to find free tutorials for 5.0

lol I have no idea they were just given to me so I have no idea...soooo I should just wait and get the newest verison...lmao???

Being new to PS myself I based my answer on what I was told fairly recently by a long time PS user. I just looked into it to be sure and the first tutorial I found is from 1997...

Here is the link if you want to try. http://people.csail.mit.edu/fredo/ArtAndScienceOfDepiction/1_Introduction/Tutorial/Contents.pdf

One thing this person talked about was the fact that PS today is a lot easier to use than the older versions so, if you are not a poor student, you may want to just go ahead and get CS4.

Photoshop CS4 is the 11th release of the program, so 5 its really outdated. If you don't want to spent the money for CS4, there are cheaper and free programs available, there are Photoshop elements an Gimp.

One thing to check is whether your computer has enough RAM to run newer versions. I was given PS2 for free when the photogs at work upgraded. I'm quite happy with it. It's running on Win XP. It does everything I want and then some. The cloning feature is a life saver. :blushing:

A friend later loaned me PS3 to see if I liked it. I had to reboot the computer fairly often just to clear the memory and load the program. I also had to "save" after nearly every function. I have 1.5 GB of RAM.

Last edited: