Photographic skill isn't everything if you want to go pro

tanishbel87

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm posting this because when I tell people that I am a press photographer, they respond that I must be a great Photog, which isn't really true. There are people who take much nicer than I do. But what got me to where I am now is a completely different set of skills.

Always be adequately professional. Whether you shoot a high ranking official or a person who has never stood in front of the camera, be polite, nichttps://nox.tips/e and professional.

The most abovious: Be on time. It staggers me how late my colleagues sometimes show up. In my fours years a Photographer I was late once. This seems way too obvious, but this is the number one reason I get jobs. The news paper I work for can always trust me being on time, which they value like crazy.

If you work for a specific company, as I do, always remember that you represent them. Dress nicely (I always walk around with a suit which is overkill, but that's how I always used to be), shave and generally don't look like a bum.

Just because I follow the above set of rules, Journalists started to specifically ask for me for interviews and so on. It really really pays off.

And a side tip: Get out there. I got to this job just because I once wrote an email and sent them my portfolio. The worst they can do is say no. And even then, they will remember you.

Last edited:
Great post. One thing I will always remember from my childhood is a lady stopping my mother in the grocery and saying what a well-mannered boy I was. My mother loved me and so she taught me to say " please " and " thank you ". One of my pet peeves is going into a store and having the clerk act like I am " bothering " them and having them not thank me for my business. I always want to call the owner and complain :angry: