Photographing the Wedding of an immediate family member

chuasam

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Does having emotional ties to the subject help or hinder one's ability to capture good photographs?

Long Story:
My parents and brother have talked me and my GF into helping out and photographing my brother's wedding later this year. Hiring a pro Wedding Photographer wasn't in the budget as the couple could not afford to hire one.

We are both professional photographers but she's an equestrian/sports photographer and I'm a headshot/portrait photographer. We have both shot weddings in the past before deciding that it wasn't for us.

Are there any potential pitfalls when photographing the wedding of an immediate family member. Contracts? Problems of being too close to the subject? We have other relatives (uncles and aunts) who are retired Commercial and pro-amateur hobbyists and a well noted Bird Photographer (hahah). So that'll take care of the shots which my GF and I have to be in.

Just wanting to see if anyone here has any experience having to photograph an immediate family member. I'm probably going to encourage all my relatives to bring their cameras too so that we can be part of the festivities too.

Well I would NEVER do it!!

Here are several things that could/will happen.

-You will not be included in any of the family photos. (You cant count on the others unless they are photographing the whole thing.)
-Being too close to the subject you can loose objectivity. For example When people post photos of their children on the forum they often cant see how bad the photo is because it has their precious child in it.

But perhaps the biggest thing that can be problematic is that is you screw up and don't do a good job, or even if they just happen to not like the photos. This will mess with your personal relationship with them forever.