Photography and Photoshop books? Help!

D-B-J

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So, I really want to work on learning more about portraiture, and using photoshop. What do you know/think about these books? And/or are there others I should be looking at? Thanks for the help!

[h=1]http://www.amazon.com/Adobe-Photoshop-CS5-Photographers-ebook/dp/B00COLDOPQ/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_nC?ie=UTF8&colid=1FA0VVPNOFP99&coliid=I36LWNQ6JVMD0H[/h]
Amazon.com: The Adobe Photoshop CS5 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter) eBook: Scott Kelby: Kindle Store

Amazon.com: Light Science and Magic 4/e eBook: Fil Hunter, Paul Fuqua, Steven Biver: Kindle Store

Oh! And I'm relatively new to portraiture, and I only have general knowledge with photoshop ( I have CS5).

Thanks for all the help!
Jake

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Light Science and Magic is good - I've read it a few times, lol. It gets recommended so often here that I finally picked it up - glad I did.

I refer to it often.

+2 on light: Science and Magic.

Photoshop is fairly complex.
A good reference that covers all it's features and functions is Adobe Photoshop CS5 for Photographers: A professional image editor's guide to the creative use of Photoshop for the Macintosh and PC

I recommend this Scott Kelby book for portraiture - Light It, Shoot It, Retouch It: Learn Step by Step How to Go from Empty Studio to Finished Image (Voices That Matter)

In general:
Real World Image Sharpening with Adobe Photoshop, Camera Raw, and Lightroom (2nd Edition)

CS 3, 4, 5, 6 Camera Raw and the Develop module in Lightroom 2, 3, 4, 5 are both ACR so
The Digital Negative: Raw Image Processing in Lightroom, Camera Raw, and Photoshop
The Digital Print: Preparing Images in Lightroom and Photoshop for Printing

There are many good video tutorials online at Adobe TV