Photography in Low light

arnab_n

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi,
I am new to photography ( in the sense of using SLRs)

Below is my Query
======================
Say I wanna shoot in low light.....available source of light is street light/low light bulb....and I dont wanna use harsh Flash lights.
My subjects are group of people ( say 4)
I wanna shoot in low light without flash.
My problem is : I cant use a Low F-stop becaz for covering 4 people I would need bigger depth of Field
and if I lower the Shutter speed to gain light...I will get blurred picture...cause my subjects cant remain motionless for long duration...
So basically my exposure requires both medium F-stop and lower shutter speed to gain light....How Do I achieve it?? And yes I dont wanna use ISO above 400 cause I wanna have a crisp Picture....
My Exposure expectation is that I get a picture a shade more brighter than the available source of Light...

How do I achieve it?? ( given that am using a tripod)

I am using Canon 550D with 18-55 lens.......

So you don't want to use a higher ISO, larger aperture, or slower shutter speed....then low light is impossible. Better get better at lighting your subjects if you won't compromise anywhere else...

Hi,
I am new to photography ( in the sense of using SLRs)

Below is my Query
======================
Say I wanna shoot in low light.....available source of light is street light/low light bulb....and I dont wanna use harsh Flash lights.
My subjects are group of people ( say 4)
I wanna shoot in low light without flash.
My problem is : I cant use a Low F-stop becaz for covering 4 people I would need bigger depth of Field
and if I lower the Shutter speed to gain light...I will get blurred picture...cause my subjects cant remain motionless for long duration...
So basically my exposure requires both medium F-stop and lower shutter speed to gain light....How Do I achieve it?? And yes I dont wanna use ISO above 400 cause I wanna have a crisp Picture....