Photography Qualifications...

Ben MacDow

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,

I'm a beginner. My composition is good, and I have a good understanding of the main elements of photography and controls on my camera. I currently use an entry level DSLR (Canon 400D) but looking to upgrade this year. I am completely self taught and just love photography and want to improve to professional level.

My passion is in street photography and candid portraiture, either individuals or at events, especially natural light. In the next couple of years I would like to see if I can move towards a career in photography, probably in portraiture in studio and events.

My plan this year is to join the local photo clubs, submit some pictures online for feedback, do some 1-2-1 workshops with photographers, start identifying my personal style and building a portfolio, and get some experience any way I can.

On some forums people slate photography courses, however I can see their value as I would like to ensure I have the basics down, and would also like guidance in appreciation of the artform and industry.

So... can anyone recommend a course and qualification? I'm happy to study online or part-time in person.

Many thanks in advance.

Ben

A few thoughts:

1) Courses can be helpful - they put a structure to learning and good ones will cover a wide range of ground. You might well find that there are some key areas where you've overlooked them or been nearly unaware that they existed. Self teaching can take you a very long way; but its a skill unto itself that not everyone has - good tuition can work wonders.