Photoshop Elements 7 or Lightroom 2?

meyecam

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi Everyone, this is my first post here, but I've been reading the forum for a little bit and everyone seems very knowledgeable and helpful, so I thought I'd ask your opinion on this.

I'm a definite novice in the world of photography and editing, but I'm looking to get more serious about it and possibly turn it into a profession. In the meantime, while I'm learning, which editing software would be the best to start with? I've a read a bunch of reviews on both PE 7 and LR 2 and they seem very similar, but maybe I'm missing something big?

I'm assuming CS4 would be the best option overall and in the long run and I believe both options are good for organzing, but to do basic editing and coloring (example below), which between PE 7 and LR 2 would be the better pick?

Also, does either one really do composition? And if so, which one is better for that?

Thanks for any advice.

3532315984_69f1be78ed.jpg

Last edited:
Elements 7 is actually a lot more powerful than most people know. I would suggest getting it. Lightroom will be a good addition at some point. It will compliment it greatly. LR will help your workflow.

Elements will offer you more editing capabilities. I'd suggest starting there.

It depends on what you want to do:

Lightroom - Useful for editing massive batches of RAW photos, from the camera right to print and presentation. This software is great for those who need to go through complicated selection processes, batch correct images, and play with basic picture settings.

Elements - Useful for carefully editing individual images. There is no real workflow in PSE7. But it is fantastically powerful giving access to most of the features of the full Photoshop which are relevant to photography, in a much more easy to use package.