Photoshop Elements or 50mm 1.8?

I would buy the 50mm also. It is a nice portrait lens(allowing low light shooting without flash knowledge, and good for portrait shallow dof at a reasonable cost) and specifically you mention child portraits. You could spend a little time setting up your camera to give pleasing straight out of camera shots. Download Picassa and google other downloadable free software programs. Keep an eye out on photo magazines is stores. Often they come with free programs for "last years" software for free. These are often raw enabled. I just realised you use canon. Canon DPP that came with your camera is a great free editing tool also

I am not a complete newbie anymore but definitely not a seasoned photographer, I would get the lens.
The 50mm lens are pure pleasure.
I just bought the 50mm 1.4D (170$ on ebay) and the sharpness on this lens is simply jaw dropping amazing, taking portrait with it is pure pleasure and as an added bonus doing night photography with such fast lens and sharpness is simply a labor of love!!!
Don't miss on it, taking a photo of you child at F2.8 will give you a memory you will carry for the rest of you life with gorgeous bokeh :)
I know I have 2 kids which are in their teens and these years of your child is something that passes as fast as last years spring, enjoy every second you can and I think the 50mm lens is something that will help you.

As for software I use Fast Stone, its a free software and I never used any other RAW software so in a way I don't know what I am missing, the more I use this software the more I see how good and effective it is. I am sure all the other software you need to buy are better but I got to tell you this free software really is plenty good for my needs.

So to sum it up my advice is get the 50mm lens and get a free software of the net :)

I like Lightroom. But if I have to choose between the 50mm prime and software, I will go with the lens first then learn and use the free software.