Picking a Slide Scanner

Seravi

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
After much research, my family has decided to purchase a scanner to make digital images of all our slides (my parents were broke when i was a kid so all our family photos are slides). Looks like it will be more cost effective for us to purchase the scanner and then sell it once we're done (as opposed to having some one else do it for a couple of grand).

Here's the list of scanners we're considering. Is anyone familiar with any of them, or can offer general feedback on the process?

Plustek OpticFilm 7200i Film Scanner

Alestron Prime Film 3650u Slide/Film Scanner with Digital ICE Technology

Microtek ArtixScan 4000TF 4000 dpi 35mm Slide

Pacific Image PS-3600 Automated 35mm PowerSlide Scanner with 3600 dpi, USB & IEEE 1394 Interface Compatible.

Thanks!

I've heard good things about the 'Coolscan' line...from Nikon I believe...but I have no first hand knowledge.

I've also heard that 'Digital ICE' technology is a real time saver because it removes a lot of dust spots. The other ones may have their own dust removal technology, so I'd suggest you check out that feature.

Also, if you are doing a lot of slides, I would consider a scanner with a bulk loader...or at least see if that is an option. That way, you should be able to set it up and let it run though a good number of slides, rather than having to baby sit it the whole time, changing each slide or small group of them.

I have the Nikon Coolscan V with Digital ICE, but am still learning how to work it.

Digital ICE does a good job on old slides and negavies with dust, scratches and spots, but I still have not figured how to get it to remove only scratches on new slides and negavies with getting odd colors.

The biggest issue is that the scan times are not close to what Nikon clams, also read that in a review after I bought it.