Pixels vs dpi

Dieselrider

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a beginner in the digital area (I never was real experienced in film for that matter) so, please bare with me if my questions seem fairly elementary. I am using a canon digital rebel xti 400D and having a blast with it so far. I was using a little samsung point and shoot before but, it took forever to be ready for the next picture to be taken. According to the camera and information settings on the rebel, I am taking pictures in the 10 megapixel range. How does that translate to dots per inch on a computer?
If I ever get to the point I can take photos I feel are good enough to sell, I would like to know more of how to format them to the requirement the publishing houses would want. They seem to be expecting 300 dpi or better for most editorial stuff. How does that translate into megapixels or, are there no relations between the two? Thank you for your time.:thumbup:

I think I may have found the answer here. http://www.design215.com/index.php

But, what about when someone want a low resolution image submitted for review, how do you convert your high resolution photographs from high resolution to low resolution?
I am also seeing that some publishers are requiring high resolution in the 50MB range. What's up with that? At highest quality settings my camera takes it gives me about a 3-4MB size file. Does Adobe or other programs allow you to resize them to these specs? I am definitely over my head here.

DPI is a matter of print resolution. End of story. Neither your camera nor your monitor see in "dots." The appropriate term for the image on your computer is PPI (pixels per inch). DPI is a misnomer that technically refers to the print resolution of the image. They can be used somewhat interchangeably if you operate under the assumption that one pixel will print as one dot.

I think I may have found the answer here. http://www.design215.com/index.php