Please help.

SarahJT

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to Photography and having a bit of trouble when printing my photos. I generally do portraits of people and edit them on my laptop but when I print the photos out the people look orange! They look perfectly fine on the laptop monitor. I was thinking it may be my editing that is the problem.. If anyone could give me any suggestions I would be very grateful.

Almost certainly your monitor needs to be calibrated. Laptops are NOT the best editing platform, but will do as long as you ensure that the display is calibrated and viewed at the correct angle. Something like this will resolve many of your issues. Of course you still need to ensure that your printer is profiled correctly too...

Thank you, I have just calibrated my laptop today after searching the Internet for answers and I go to a printing shop to print them out which probably doesn't help. It's all new and confusing.

Hi and welcome to the forum. Tirediron has probably given you the best advice already. But to be sure you can upload a sample here so we can sort out if it is really the monitor or something else.

Thanks you I really appreciate it.

Perhaps I'm not using the right settings when taking the photos.

Attachments

• DSC_0501 (2).JPG
    DSC_0501 (2).JPG
    2.1 MB · Views: 175
This is not monitor calibration: Monitor Calibration or this: Display Calibration - Free online computer monitor calibration. Calibrate for brightness, contrast, color depth and resolution.

This is monitor calibration: ColorMunki Photo - Camera, Monitor, Projector, Printer Calibration: Photo&Video To calibrate your monitor you need to invest in hardware to do so. As stated above laptop monitors are not good for editing. You should use a static monitor in a static location under the same lighting conditions at the same angle and distance every time you edit.