Popup flash and camera manual settings

mrodgers

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a question about camera settings using flash. I was just playing around with the flash since my camera does not do well inside the house.

I have been playing with the shutter speed and I see absolutely no difference in the results changing from 1/100 to my quickest of 1/1000 when using the flash. I am wondering why. My camera does not do well in quality with anything above ISO400. I typically leave it at f/3.5 aperture as I don't have a very tight DOF with this camera. So, I'd like to stay away from the 1/40-1/60 shutter speed the camera usually sets it's self at in Aperture or Program mode, so I set it in manual and tested at various shutter speeds. There is no difference between as I said, 1/100 and 1/1000 seconds.

Why?

I am new to the game too bro and I rarely ever use my build-in flash. My theory is that when you change shutter speeds or other adjustments to your camera, the camera also reacts by automatically adjusting your flash settings. Perhaps during 1/100 shots, your flash burst is longer or more intensified to pickup light faster by your sensor. Not sure if this is really happening but it seems like a decent theory.

It is because, and I am assuming you don't have a pro rig, that your flash sync speed is at 1/180.

You could set your shutter speed to 1/1000, however as soon as you pop the flash, it will probably go down to 1/180.

With more expensive cameras, you can get faster flash sync speeds, (up to, i think 1/500).

When I use my built in flash, even at 1/180 the flash is more often than not too bright, so I step up the aperture until the photo is more even.

It's not just limited to built-in flashes, either. I'm still quite new, but from what I've read, the flash sync speed is entirely dependant on your camera.