Portrait if Dani

cherie6c

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello.. Looking for feedback. What do you think about this image?

Attachments

• $image-3785949701.jpg
    $image-3785949701.jpg
    85.2 KB · Views: 109
I would have used lighting (flash) to keep the shadow off of the right side of her face and gotten rid of the tall grass in the front of the model. nice picture though Dont take my word as I am new to the art of photography..

Lighting is fine.. but that OOF grass in her face kills the shot. Not a keeper with that..

Last edited:
The tall grass as a background element is o.k., but not in front of the model. The other background element, the wall, is distracting. There is no apparent reason to frame in landscape format. Shadows on her face are too severe. The shot would have been much better if the model would have been looking at the camera.

Would have also been better shot vertically.... too much dead space!

Last edited:
Non-Asian viewers almost to a person loathe OOF foreground bokeh. If this photo were shown to a Japanese viewer, he would understand it, and probably like it. I think it would work better cropped to a square aspect shot.

Derrel said:
Non-Asian viewers almost to a person loathe OOF foreground bokeh. If this photo were shown to a Japanese viewer, he would understand it, and probably like it. I think it would work better cropped to a square aspect shot.

Why Asian? Just a cultural photographic trend?

I'm on the other side, i like the foreground bokeh effect, it doesn't take away from the subject at all. Because of it you've allowed the image to be asymmetrical, and feel less posed and somewhat voyeuristic. I'd keep exploring the style.

Derrel said: