Portrait Lighting Question

mc5581

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello all!

Have been browsing these forums for a while and would really appreciate some advice on equipment.

I'm looking to buy some lighting equipment for potraits. I will normally be using a Canon 20d with soft focus lens on a roaming basis, taking pictures at events etcetera but would like to do the occassional portrait session at friends' houses.

I am choosing between a 430EX speedlite and a 580EX speedlite as the aftermarket flash for my mobile pictures and was wondering whether I could use this for portraits, too?

I plan to use the speedlite as the trigger and main flash whilst purchasing a Bowens 500 (used with an umbrella on a boom stand) for the background light.

Could this set up produce OK-looking results? I cannot find any sample images from similar set ups. The plan is to start of with this and get more equipment when I have more money - I'm a poor student at the moment :wink:

Any input would be much appreciated!

Matt

Have a look at alien bees, They are inexpensive, can be portable and I think you will get better results.

Sorry, should have said . . . I'm based in the UK - alienbees aren't an option. Would the proposed set up work?

Welcome to the forum.

I see some problems with your proposed set up. The 430 & 580 are dedicated Canon flash units and have the ability to communicate with the camera for E-TTL metering. This is one reason why they cost so much.

When using studio lights, you can't really incorporate E-TTL metering. The Canon flash & camera use a pre-flash to meter the scene and then a 2nd flash for exposure. If you are using that flash to trigger the studio lights, the pre-flash may trigger the lights and it wouldn't be ready when he 2nd burst fires. Also, the metering may be thrown off.