Possible jump from Canon to Sony

ashleykaryl

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have been shooting with Canon for 25 years now and stuck with the 1DsII for the last decade, primarily because it still gets the job done. The combination of the 24-105L and a 100mm macro seems to cover everything I need and it's built like a tank but the weight and bulk are a pain at times.

Recently my head has been turned by Sony and in particular the A7RII. I don't know if there are any updates planned in the very near future, but it looks like it could really be the camera for all occasions. It would be interesting to hear some feedback (especially from ex Canon users) on the pros and cons of working with the A7RII.

its going to depend on what kind of shooting you do.
I think for most applications, mirrorless cameras have advanced enough to do just as well as a DSLR.
for portraits and weddings for instance, i think a sony A7RII would be just fine.
mirrorless lacks in AF though, so if you are shooting fast moving subjects, you will be at a disadvantage.
otherwise, I say go for it. you can get some absolutely fantastic lenses for the sony cameras.

Thanks Pixmedic. Over the years I've shot all sorts of subjects. Occasionally I'll photograph a model in movement, which might be a short run covering a few paces or hair in movement from a head turned quickly to the side. That's about it though and I have no interest in shooting sports photography.

One concern I had about 42MP is the question of precise focus. In the past I've worked with medium format digital a few times and obtaining sharp focus exactly where I wanted with shallow depth of field was a challenge to put it mildly.

Due to mirror slap I concluded medium format was impractical for many situations, however I've heard the Sony can be successfully hand held at low shutter speeds and still produce sharp results, which would be very impressive if true.