PP woes

rub

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a complete novice when it comes to PP my images. I do my best, but right now it is taking me far too long. I often know what I want, just not how to effeciently achieve those results.

I am learning mostly through the web, tutorials, and tips from friends (and will be taking a Photoshop course at the local community college in a few weeks) but I still have so far to go. So now I have been thinking about hiring out some of my pp.

Has anyone ever done this?
Any downfalls you can think of, other than cost & losing a bit of the creative control?
What can I expect to pay for this service?
Would people pay by the hour? The image?

I am not looking for major retouching on most images, just a little more than what I can do now.

I have thought about approaching some of the site users here, who's style I like. If anyone would be interested in taking on some extra work, or if you have any advice, it would be appreciated.

Kristal

Its just the time factor that I am worried about. I have a few clients lined up right now, and I know my pp skills are not where they should be. I am really looking for a short term solution so that I can give my clients a great final product while I am still learning.

I know a few photographers who 'sub-out' some of the PP. Sometimes it's just RAW processing, sometimes it's album layout & design, sometimes it's letting the lab do color corrections. I'm sure that some people sub it all out.

Part of learning and developing your post processing is streamlining your workflow. Maybe it you tell us your current workflow, we can help you to speed things up.

If you are looking for someone to give you a quote on processing; e-mail this guy, he does great work. Tell him Big Mike sent you.:) [email protected]

Thanks Big Mike.

Right now I shoot RAW. Download. Do a quick run through and garbage the garbage. Save to HD, plus save a copy on DVD.