Printing larger prints questions

bobandcar

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have a picture that I would like to get printed large not sure on size yet but something maybe 18 by 30
Not sure what sizes are available.

I have never printed anything bigger than 5x7
My program of choice is lightroom 4 and I am still very new to it.

How can I ensure that it will look right after I order it?
What companies have good quality prints that would ship this to me?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

There's as much risk that your 5x7's will not have correct color as there is for a larger print. The only difference is that the larger print costs more.

You need to take care of things on your end and your printer needs to take care of things on their end. That means you need to have a properly color-balanced display so that the colors you see are accurate and should appear the same on any other display which is ALSO color-balanced (calibrated.)

Printers get calibrated as well but it's more specific... a printer has to be calibrated for both the specific ink AND paper combination being used. If you switch to a different paper you have to recalibrate the printer.

Some labs make their printer profiles available to you for download so that you can load the printer profile and proof the image based on the color gamut of the printer. It also allows the computer to adjust the colors so that they come out right on the printer (e.g. suppose a printer doesn't saturate a certain color as much as it needs to to produce accurate color ... the profile would tell the computer that it needs to artificially boost saturation so that when it's printed the image will appear correct.)

You can check sites like: Using Printer Profiles with Digital Labs