Problem children

Warfarin

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to Pentax so don’t know what is happening. I have a MZ-50 that I think has something wrong with the mirror gears. It was working perfectly until my son dropped it and now the mirror only goes back down half way. Not sure if this is worth fixing. Next up is a MZ-60. I just received it and it was working great. I fired the shutter about 4-5 times and all worked well. I removed the lens to check the contacts and see if the inside was clean. It was. I replaced the lens and fired the shutter. Now my mirror is in the up position and the shutter won’t function. I am guessing that a camera this low on the pole doesn’t have a shutter lock up feature that I accidentally turned on because if it did the shutter should function. Any advice?

One of the primary reasons i switched to Pentax in the late 60s was they were built like a tank, able to withstand abuse.I have a ZX-M that just keeps chugging along, but it's a use and throw it away camera, no where near its predecessor the K1000. You can pick up a MZ body for less than $50 dollars.

Two things you might try. Are you sure you have a fresh batterry? Second, apparently this series was plagued by a slipping cog. Here's a link to a DIY fix you might try. Strange MZ-50 mirror problem... cheaper to repair or buy a new body? - PentaxForums.com scroll down about middle ways.

One of the primary reasons i switched to Pentax in the late 60s was they were built like a tank, able to withstand abuse.I have a ZX-M that just keeps chugging along, but it's a use and throw it away camera, no where near its predecessor the K1000. You can pick up a MZ body for less than $50 dollars.